Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo wins the 2020 presidential elections, defeats John Mahama again

Nana Akufo-Addo declared winner of the 2020 elections, defeats John Mahama again

Spread the love

The chairperson of the Electoral Commission of Ghana, Madam Jean Mensah has officially declared Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo the president-elect of the just-ended 2020 presidential and parliamentary elections.

According to Madam Jean Mensah, who is the returning officer for the presidential race, Nana Akufo-Addo won 6,730,413 votes representing 51.59% out of the total valid votes cast of 13,434,574 representing 79%, whilst his opponent, John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress got 6,214,889 votes representing 47. 36%.

Updated Figures: The Electoral Commission of Ghana led by Jean Mensah has officially come out with a corrected figure of its previous total valid votes cast of 13,434,574.

According to the EC, the new total valid votes cast figure minus the Techiman South Constituency results is 13,119,460, and not the previous figure of 13,434,574.

As it stands now, President-elect Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo won the 2020 presidential race with 6,730,587 representing 51.302% whilst former president John Dramani Mahama had 6,213,182 representing 47.359%.

“The Chairperson of the Electoral Commission inadvertently used 13,433,573 as the total valid votes cast. The total valid votes cast is 13,119,460.

“This does not change the percentages stated for each candidate and the declaration made by the Chairperson,” the statement added,” the Electoral Commission stated.

Read This: Total waste of taxpayers’ money ‘kwa’? See all the cases Martin Amidu has so far investigated from 2018 to 2020….

For the second time, Nana Addo has managed to defeat his opponent, John Dramani Mahama in two major presidential elections with the last one being the 2016 polls.

President Nana Addo had 53.80% of the total valid votes cast as against 44.40% polled by John Dramani Mahama in the 2016 general elections.

Yours Truly, BieGyaNation.Com congratulates President Nana Addo Dankwah Akufo-Addo for his win.

Source: George Awiadem Maclean | BieGyaNation.Com

Leave a Reply